Welcome to Cooks & Shoots!

I’m Isabella, and I’m passionate about all things delicious.

Not too long ago a friend asked me for a frosting recipe, and I got so excited, I think I went as far as describing the difference between soft and hard peaks in beaten egg whites, and why you shouldn’t really use a glaze on a brownie (not that you can’t, but what’s the point?)… we decided on a white chocolate ganache in the end, but I think I scarred her for life in the process.

And so this blog was born as an outlet for sharing my passion for food and photography, without alienating friends. At this point it’s mainly a journal for documenting my progress through Kitchen Chemistry* and Advanced Kitchen Chemistry** courses on MIT OpenCourseWare with an occasional feature story thrown in. I won’t be following the course with 100% accuracy. Some ingredients are hard or impossible to get where I live, and some of the materials are too scientific/academic. My goal is to learn how and why certain things work in the kitchen, and I plan on having fun while learning too!

It’s still a work in progress, but the longer I think about it, the more I’ll postpone starting both the blog and the learning process.

All photos on this blog are taken by me, unless stated otherwise. Feel free to share, but please contact me if you’d like to use any of the photos.

All course materials are property of MIT OpenCourseWare, and can be found at the links above.

I’m looking forward to this journey, and I hope you’ll enjoy reading about it!


* Christie, Patricia. SP.287 Kitchen Chemistry course, Spring 2009. (Massachusetts Institute of Technology: MIT OpenCourseWare), http://ocw.mit.edu (Accessed 18 May, 2012). License: Creative Commons BY-NC-SA

** Christie, Patricia. 5.S16 Advanced Kitchen Chemistry, Spring 2002. (Massachusetts Institute of Technology: MIT OpenCourseWare), http://ocw.mit.edu (Accessed May, 2012). License: Creative Commons BY-NC-SA

